Maritzburg United vs Baroka F.C.

Maritzburg United vs Baroque F.C.

Maritzburg United registered their second win in a row after defeating Baroka F.C. 1: 0. After the ABSA Premiership match at the Harry Gwala Stadium, Maritzburg jump higher in the rankings. When they beat Chippa United, Maritzburg coach decided to make two changes.

Bongokuhle Hlongwane and Nazeer Allie are in the squad. Bakgaga made similar changes after losing to the Kaizer Chiefs as Martin Nsimbi earned a start as well as Matome Kgoetyane. Neither team wanted to put the pressure in the first half of the game, so there was little chance of scoring.

The more likely reason for this game tactic is that neither team wanted to risk a goal early in the game. That could happen if they had opened up immediately and only started to attack without thinking about the defensive line. Mxolisi Kunene had a great opportunity eight minutes before the end of the first half but was blocked by a second-team player.

Maritzburg United started off more aggressively in the second half with Kunene. Tinkler wanted more goals in the match. He replaced New Zealand striker Jeremy Brockie. Judas Moseamedi stepped in instead. Judas had a great opportunity to score in the last 15 minutes of the game. In the end, he failed to score because he missed a goal for six yards. Surely the Baroka F.C. will have great matches as well as Maritzburg with excellent PSL results. You will know more on Soccer 10.


Maritzburg United vs Baroque F.C. Highlights

For Maritzburg United players were Hlongwane, Brockie, Kutumela, Claaasen, Snadu, Allie, De Reuck, Morgan, Kunene, Xulu, Ofori. Replacements were Sangweni, Nyoni, Augusto, Lea’Alafa, Mosemadi, Sanoka, Barr. For Baroque F.C. players were Mbulu, Nsimba, Mabeba, Kambala, Phiri Jnr, Patjie, Ngubane, Sibiya, Shozi, Kgoetyane, Chipezeze. The substitutes were Dickens, Mdantsane, Tisdell, Makgaka, Madondo, Ntswane, Dlamini.

Maritzburg is a football club from South Africa currently competing in the Premier Soccer League. They are located in Pietermaritzburg. So far the club has achieved some great results. They won the First Division in the 2007/2008 season. A year later, they made the playoffs competing in the First Division Championship. Peter Petersen and Shu Aib Walters played the most times, with Fadlu Davids scoring the most goals. Cuthbert Malajila scored the most goals per season. He scored 13 goals in the 2012/2013 season.